PIANC-Smart Rivers 2017 Conference

    PIANC News




Home > Awards and Scholarships

De Paepe-Willems Award

The De Paepe-Willems Award honors two former Presidents of PIANC. Robert De Paepe was President of PIANC for 17 years, from 1982 to 1999. And Professor Gustave Willems was President of PIANC for 26 years, from 1956 to 1982. The first Willems Award was made in 1985 during the 100th Anniversary of the association. In 2002, the award was changed to the De Paepe-Willems Award following the merge of the Foundation Robert De Paepe into the Willems Award. The award is given for the most outstanding technical paper prepared on an aspect of waterborne transport, including policy, management, design, economics, integration with other transport modes, technology, safety, public involvement, and the environment. The competition is open to anyone 40 years of age or younger.

Abstracts and technical submissions are due in the spring and summer of each year for PIANC USA with award of the U.S. De Paepe-Willems Award in the fall of each year. Announcement of the International Winner occurs in the spring of the following year at the Annual General Assembly. PIANC USA selects one paper from the U.S. submissions to be sent to the international competition.

The U.S. Winner receives a $5,000 check, an expense-paid trip to the PIANC USA Annual Meeting, and an individual five-year free membership in PIANC from PIANC USA. By discretion of the PIANC USA Judging Committee, second and third place awards may be granted in check amounts of $1000 and $500, respectively. The International Winner receives a monetary award of $5,000 euros, an expense-paid trip to the Annual General Assembly, and a five-year free membership in PIANC.

The US will not be offering an award in 2010. Interested parties should submit directly to PIANC International You are leaving the PIANC USA web site. Click this icon for more information..





How to Apply

For 2010, interested parties should submit directly to PIANC International.

Contact Edmond Russo, Chairman, Publications Committee, edmond.j.russo@usace.army.mil